Despite the City of Muncie and private owners re-investing millions in developing downtown, the historic Canopic building sat vacant in the heart of the area, which detracted from the comprehensive redevelopment efforts. Constructed in 1886 by W.W. Shirk and listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the building sat vacant for over four years.
Co-developed by East Central Reinvestment Corporation (ECRC), Flaherty and Collins and the City of Muncie, Historic Muncie Apartments includes 35 affordable housing units, which were developed through a certified historic renovation of the W.W. Shirk Building and 10 scattered site vacant buildings.
A HOME grant awarded to the City of Muncie, LIHTC and historic tax credits, deferred development feeds and a first mortgage loan completed project financing.
The rehabilitation of this beautiful and historic area produced a vibrant and exciting center of activity. Restoration of the historic single family houses continues ECRC’s intense efforts to preserve this historic neighborhood adjacent to downtown. This provides convenient access to many downtown amenities, all within walking distance: employment, entertainment, dining, library, grocery and drug stores, the YMCA and community park– allowing residents to full participate in their community and better their own economic circumstances.
Historic Muncie includes the Canopic building with 24 units, plus nine single-family houses. Two of the nine houses are duplexes. Canopic has one-, two-, three-, and four-bedroom apartment floor plans, as well as efficiency units ranging in square footage from 435 to 1,580. Income and student restrictions apply. For more information, please stop by our leasing office located at 451 E 2nd Street.